concept | orchestra | works | archive


2010, Atelier Klangraum T.

fragment_1: Kulong

fragment_2: Typedrum & Drumgate

fragment_3: Kulong

___Description: ___

I observe so much this circular beheviour. It is difficult to escape of this stagnating routines. One of the greatest challenges I undergo is to break open such circuits and get a nieuw point of view. The Soundgate concert project is a whole landscape of unique instruments which realize the "orchestra". The "unvisible" center of the whole scene are the four gates for this musical "transit". One gate has 32 iron bells in a circular arrangement. This shape makes it possible to play the bells like a planetary movement. The total arrangement consists of 290 sound elements intergrate in 20 sound machine objects. The manner of sound generating is absolutely "natural". That means that there is no amplification, no laud speker music and all sound are produce by physical action through magnets, motors or air. Each sound element is connected to an interface and can be played by a electronical score.

The composition is based in great parts on cyclic-rotating figures. These cyclic themes transform and migrate in four steps from one instrument group to the next one. This migration is not onls changing of the sound colour but rather an noving in the space to the next sound-object. For example the sound change from the 64 iron bells in the middle to the air driven Siren and M-pipes. In the composition has four of such steps:1-the motion got stuck, 2-realize distress, 3-motion to the new, 4-transition. After the third step the instruments of the beginning will come back but in a complete trannsformed way. The transition is pass through the old motive is gone and a new panoramic view appear.

Soundgate (PDF-german)

___Overview Soundmachines: ___



Datenschutzerklärung | Impressum
© 2010-2018 Christof Schläger